My Cat

Last night, I decided to explore a couple of different things with my camera.  I’ve been “playing” a lot with it, but there were definitely features on it I hadn’t explored enough.
I turned off everything “automatic” and turned on different manual settings.  I began experimenting with black and white, poster, a reds setting, a “toy” setting and more.

Funny, it was like my cat knew what I was doing.  We live right near the woods and as such, he came over and “posed” on a log for me.


He’s really photogenic.  I think he knows it.


I’ve been focusing on “nature” photography, but I thought it would be really fun to explore some shots of my cat.  Later on, my second cat came over and he posed, too.  Ha!  I didn’t ask them to do so, but I sure took advantage of those moments.


Here’s a black and white photo of Ralphie:

Ralphie / C. Calhoun 2012.  All rights reserved.

As he sat there, I changed the settings in my camera to only detect “greens” – I have no problem with “green” objects being nearby, but Ralphie also has green eyes:

Ralphie With Green Eyes / C. Calhoun 2012.

Then, just as I was thinking I was done for the day, Pepe – my other cat – walked over.  I think he wanted to be in the pictures, too.  I used a “soft glow” setting for this picture:

Ralphie and Pepe / C. Calhoun 2012.  All rights reserved.

What a fun afternoon – I spent time with my beautiful cats and in return, they posed for me.  

Leave a Reply

