Taking Time to Smell the…Enjoy the Leaves

Beautiful fall colors

I went for a walk yesterday armed with my camera.  I shot this and many other images that I thought were web-worthy.

But I have no “new” pictures today.

For weeks, I’ve been powering through creating this website, creating products for my Zazzle store, attempting to get more writing gigs, improving my photography, writing some hubs, and overall, trying to get my photography and writing business going.

But yesterday, after about 12 hours of staring at the screen, my eyes were watering, my concentration was frazzled, and I was in a bad mood.

Don’t get me wrong: I am literally in love with what I’m doing.

Just like chocolate chip cookies – I’m in love with those, too.

But too much of a good thing isn’t good.

I’ve also heard that it’s good to get away from the computer to get writing fodder.  Truer words were never spoken.

Now, see, I spent most of the day away.  I didn’t take the day off, though.

I just got the heck out.  Went to Goodwill looking for macro picture props, stopped at a friend’s whom I hadn’t seen in months, went to the grocery store to pick up a few groceries for an upcoming photo project/hub and fueled my academic mind with more books from the library.

In general, every moment of my life is either a writing opp or a photo opp.  I’m totally okay with that.

You can’t live very moment “plugged in.”  So, I’ve plugged in just long enough to get a few essential things done, but…

I’m taking a little time to enjoy the leaves…and maybe watch a movie later and make some popcorn in the pan (not in the microwave) – you know, the real stuff.  Or maybe I’ll read the second book in the Eragon series – I’m waaay into young adult fiction.

That is, if my eyes let me.

 

10 thoughts on “Taking Time to Smell the…Enjoy the Leaves

    1. Julie – oh man, sometimes you just need to step away, you know. Even still, I know I can’t ever step totally away…but gak…I need a night completely off. 🙂

      Like

  1. Yes, we all need to unwind some times and the surge of productivity is incredible. Your picture of the leaf is so beautiful and real. You captured nature at its best, Cyndi

    Like

  2. Cyndi, I too did just that and took a bit of time off, too. Everyone truly needs a bit a recharging time to mentally refuel an very much relate. Now i am of course trying to play catch up a bit, but today definitely was well worth it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

