NaNoWriMo Day 9

Hand Quotation

20, 510 words. I should have written 2700 words today, but I stopped at 2,174. I have other things I’m needing to do and I’m just glad I got that far.

If you read Day 8, you’ll know that the writing process has been a little sluggish of late. Today was better, though.

But as I was writing, that little voice in the back of my head started in on me.
“You don’t have enough action. It’s going to be boring. It’s going to be like Byzantium! (Byzantium is the partial title to a book I read a long time ago that was incredibly boring.)

Each word I wrote thus became more difficult and more labored because of that stupid little voice.

“Shut up,” I scolded, “you don’t know what you’re talking about. I’m writing onward. I already have 1,700 words.”

“Oh no. You might have 1,700 words, but they’re drab, boring words,” said the voice, taking the role of my inner editor.

“The inner editor is supposed to be asleep this month!” I shot back. “Go back to sleep.”

As if to drive home the point, I stopped for lunch.

While I was eating, my husband looked over. “How’s it going?”

“All right, but I can’t help think that the scene I’m working on is dreadfully boring,” I confessed.  Stupid inner editor.

“Do you want a second opinion? What’s it about?”

“Well, they’re all at a restaurant and there’s this whole, big Mexican family. They’re eating this huge meal and talking and one of my main characters is eating quietly, just taking in all the commotion of a family with five kids and two lively parents.”

“Okay, it sounds good.  Go on,” my husband urged.

“Well, that’s the thing. That’s all that’s going on.”

“It sounds like something’s going to happen.”

“Really? I have no idea what’s going to happen.”

“Well, I guess you’ll have to figure that out.”

It’s a good thing he said that, because I was able to take that little kernel of an idea and sputter out 400 more words to set myself up for an interesting scene tomorrow.  Something happens.  Something definitely happens.

Apparently, inspiration can come from anywhere, even a simple conversation over lunch.  That was also the inspiration for the quote I wrote on my hand in the picture.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 9

Leave a Reply

