Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Gratitude is beautiful

I am so lucky.  I started this blogging journey earlier this year and I’m on cloud 9.

First, I had talked about in an earlier post how I had interviewed a friend of mine this weekend for Small Business Saturday.  I submitted the article to one of the local newspapers and they almost immediately posted it to their website.  That was one of those moments where I thought, “they liked it?  They really liked it?  Somebody liked my work!  Awesomesauce!

I’m also glad because I hope it also brings my friend Jeannie a lot of business this holiday weekend. She runs such a wonderful framing shop, she supports the arts and she has a heart of gold.  She deserves the utmost success.

Women Blogger Award

Now for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award.  In the blogosphere, you come across some of the most incredible people.  Janine awarded me this honor and I have to express my gratitude toward her.  I am completely humbled my this woman who blogs, writes articles, juggles two very young girls, a great husband, and extended family living in the house with her. Add to that, she just endured Hurricane Sandy and found a way to still schedule blog posts, comment on others’ blogs and all around just “be there.”

I also have to say that without fail, she also comments on every post I do and I don’t have any idea how she does it.  Any blogger I know that posts more than once usually won’t get more than one comment a day from me because there are so many people I like to comment and follow.  She does, too, but still manages to find time to come to my page and offer her insights.

So, thank you Janine.  You have made me feel so special and it’s moments like this that make it all worth it.

I’m supposed to reveal 7 things about myself before I pass this award on to other women bloggers.

Let’s see:

1. I question why it’s 7 things I’m supposed to reveal about myself.  Why not 5 or 3 or 13?  Or why isn’t it “reveal 7 secret desires.”  I just had to laugh and poke a little fun at that requirement.

2. I once worked for Mary Kay for about a week.  I decided I was a very bad candidate for it when I hated to wear make-up and they couldn’t make me wear it, and my eyes puffed up and peeled from the mascara.  Then the lipstick made my lips burn and peel off in sheets.

3. I believe in following your dreams.  I believe in this principle so much that I would be willing to quit my job to blog, hub and post products to Zazzle full time.  Oops.  I already did.

4.  I like strange smells.  It’s true.  Scotch tape?  They should so make a perfume out of that.  The vinyl smell on a new shower curtain?  I like that, too.  Carbon copy paper?  Yep.  The pages of a newly printed book, the glossy cover of a new magazine, magic markers after they’ve dried on the paper.  Before you think I go sniffing this stuff, I promise I don’t.  I think I have a medical condition called: ilikethesmellofplastickitis.

5. I have optic hyperplasia.  It’s a fancy way of saying the optic nerve didn’t develop in my right eye.  So, I’m blind in my right eye since birth.  I only see the world in two dimensions, but I feel like that really gives me an edge when it comes to photography and artwork.  My world looks just like it does in photos.  My right eye doesn’t track and it sometimes freaks people out.  That, in turn, makes me really self-conscious.  This is another reason that you won’t see very many self-portraits of my face up-close.  But, I’m the first to make fun of myself and use the nickname “Cyclops Cyndi.”

6. I’m left-handed, but I cut with my right hand.  I can’t use a computer mouse with my left hand.  I chew on the right side of my mouth, and kick with my left foot.  I’m a very right-brained person and can claim that I’m in my right mind.

7.  I like to do something called “oil pulling” every morning.  It’s an ancient Ayurvedic remedy, akin to modern day flossing, but you basically swish coconut, sunflower or some other similar oil in your mouth for 20 minutes before eating in the morning.  It feels like I just walked out of the dentist’s chair because my teeth are smooth, it keeps my teeth extraordinarily white, and it’s purported to ward off heart disease (which runs in my family) and fight free radicals in the blood.  I can buy into that idea especially after hearing that people who regularly floss tend to have less heart disease.

So there you have it: 7 very random things about me.

As part of this award, it’s my job to pass it on.  I really wanted to think upon whom I would bestow this award and I can think of two people:

Terrye and MissOlive.

  • Terrye: has a special place in my heart.  More than once, she has given me leads to different freelancing possibilities and knows how to boost my confidence enough when I don’t see it in myself.  She recently gave me the idea that I should do a write up for small business Saturday and submit it to the local paper.  When I did that, they actually RAN the article – TODAY.  I have been so thrilled at the possibilities that this entails and I’m incredibly grateful to Terrye.  Not only that, even though she’s moving from Montana to Arizona right now, she’ll have an idea for her next blog post: she has to pass on this award.  Hehe.  That’ll get ‘er postin’ very soon.
  • MissOlive: Here is another person that I befriended over at HubPages.  She’s someone to whom I’ve bounced ideas, shared dreams, and she’s helped to boost my confidence, too.  With her inspiration, I have endeavored to take her advice to heart and though she’s a busy teacher, wife and mom, she always has big ideas and I know that she’s going places.  She’s got Latin roots like me, so I completely get it when she says things like, “we’re cooking pozole and the whole family is coming over.”  That doesn’t just mean a couple brothers and sisters.  It means parents, grandparents, cousins, aunts, uncles and friends close enough to consider themselves family to eat a hominy soup.

So what do these two do with this award?

First, they’re supposed to thank the person that gave it to them (it seems weird to say that, by the way).  Second, they need to put the logo in the post, tell 7 things about themselves and pass the award on to other women bloggers.

Have fun!

33 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Cyndi, it was totally my pleasure to award this one to you and can honestly tell you am just so happy that we became friends through this little thing we call blogging. I will be honest with you and tell you I have no clue how I am doing it all, because I really just am amazed myself many days. That said, I am humbled seriously to be in our group of wonderful writers. Thank you seriously for always being so kind to me and for being just you. Also, loved who you picked to pay it forward. Awesome!!!

    Like

  2. I love your totally random seven things. That is super cool. I’ve been so impressed how you left your job and ran with everything. I think you’re a great success! 🙂

    Like

    1. Vicki – haha, they are random. Thank you so much for your support, Sis. I need to make it over to your blog/hubs; sorry I haven’t lately. It’s been a little crazy. 🙂

      Like

      1. That’s okay, sis! I know you’ve been busy. I have, too, and my cat blog is stagnant right now. I need to visit it myself! I really need to start a blog that combines everything. I find that one too confining, anyway. Talk soon! 🙂

        Like

      2. Vicki – that’s ultimately why I went with this blog – I HAD to combine the ability to write personal tidbits, while still interspersed with my writing and photography. It took me a few tries, though. I must say, however, that your cats are sooo cute!

        Like

  3. You deserve it all and more. Way to go, lil’ Sis! I’m tired; this is my twelfth hour on the computer and you can stick a fork in me. Yours is the last thing to be read tonight.

    I am left-handed and cut with my right, too. Why? Because I’m cool like you. 🙂

    Like

    1. BB – If there were a “brotherhood” award, I’d be giving it to you. Thank you for reading my second post. And yeah, I bet you also “kick” with your left foot cuz you’re cool like that. Hehe.

      Like

  4. Oh, I like that vinyl curtain smell too. I like your list. I’m intrigued about the swishing thing. How do you swish for 20 minutes? That seems like it would be really hard. I’d really like to try that, but I don’t know if I could swish for 20 minutes.

    Like

    1. Kate – haha, I don’t know what it is about vinyl curtains. HAHA. As far as “swishing,” well, just try it for 5 minutes the first few times. Then 10, then 15, then 20. Use 2 tsp of oil. The “juices” will all mix together. Hehe. Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  5. I totally agree for Janine. I find her a super woman since she is always there commenting on the blogs and appreciating all.

    Terrye and MisOlive, yeah for you! You both are priceless and I yet have to know you better 🙂

    Cyndi, I loved reading about your traits…seriously you munch on only one side…lol
    I have to notice now when I chew my food 🙂

    I agree with your beautiful saying…gratitude is a beautiful thing, it makes one feel so grounded!

    Like

    1. Ruchira – you’re a superwoman, too! I’ll be waiting to hear which side you chew your food on, lolol. Gratitude: it really is a beautiful thing, huh? Thank you so much, Ruchira. 🙂

      Like

  6. Gosh, I get bored trying to brush my teeth for 2 minutes, never mind swishing something around there for 20 minutes. Well done to you! 😉 I love your 7 things, and the two ladies you chose to pass the award on to. Awesome!!

    Like

    1. Melanie – the first couple of times I tried oil pulling, I could only do about 10 minutes. You just start off with about 2 tsp. of oil and go from there. 🙂 Now, I just do it while I’m writing, hehe.

      Like

  7. Cyndi, I read your article about your friend yesterday and very interesting it was too! I look at your photos too and you have a gift with the camera. I am also left handed and cut my food with my right hand unless I am carving meat, in which case I use my left hand. I also love the smell of new magazines/books and the smell of coffee when it is first opened :o). Good Luck with your new ventures, I am sure you will be successful at it because you are so enthusiastic!

    Like

    1. Julie – aww, thank you so much! I love the camera and I definitely love making neat images with it. 🙂 Coffee when it’s first opened is *heavenly* – though I don’t like to drink it. LOL. Thank you, so much for your sweet words!

      Like

  8. Total congrats in this thing! earned is earned, yo

    It is always good to see good effort recognized…

    hey, speaking as an old person, you would have loved the smell of mimeographed paper! (I assume it is no longer used… but back in the day, it was our ‘toner’ used to print handouts in class, the smell remains with me, a lifetime later).

    Item #5? I say in all seriousness: I sat blot upright in my chair!
    I actually have not met another person who, having this peculiar condition, has been able (or inclined) to describe this fairly weird condition so aptly.
    I’ve learned to not describe (my form of vision) to people who might be riding in my car for the first time. ( “hey, sure I don’t have ‘depth perception’ like you, but I’m real good at judging the rate the car in front of us seems to be getting bigger, so nothing to worry about!”)
    …my favorite is to be driving along a road and come upon a house that is set back from the road (but in the open), has direct light on the front but shadowed on the side… the way it just ‘flattens out’.

    Sorry to get ‘off topic’, awards are good not because they tell you something about yourself, but because they tell the world something about you.

    Like

    1. Clark – They used mimeographs at my elementary school. Yes, I liked that smell, too. HAHA. So, you don’t have depth perception? HUh. Well, we can greet the world with our unique vision. 🙂 Thank you for always commenting, Clark. 🙂

      Like

  9. Cyndi! Oh my! Thank you so much! I don’t even know where to start. I’ve read through the comments and I have to totally agree with Vicki. The way you have handled this job transition is nothing less than impressive and truly inspiring. You are a wonderful example of a writer, supportive promoter, ninja cheerleader and super fun friend. And that is just scratching the surface. Thanks so so soooooo much for being there for me and a huge humble thanks for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers award….awwww shucks…..(falls to her knees)….I’m not worthy…I need to dust off my keyboard and get some serious writing done!!!…will ‘oil pulling’ help me do that? 🙂 Love ya!

    Gracias amiga…si se puede!!!

    Like

  10. OMG – you wouldn’t believe this. I got up super duper early this morning so I could get in some quiet time before it gets all madhouse here and get some wriiting done. Natuarally, even though I intended to write first, read later, I decided to check facebook and I thought – I will give your blog a read really quick. I almost exited out before even commenting. I was look – OH NO I ALMOST DIDN’T COMMENT. See what happens when you read blogs without your coffee… I am going to go get a cup now.
    BTW – I really think you deserve this award and the others that you picked are prime for the picking. By the way, my husband loves the smell of DVDs when you first unwrap them. It is something about taking off the plastic! 🙂

    Like

    1. Stacy – well, you’re so sweet – givin’ me a good read before you even had coffee. Now THAT’S loyalty. Hehe. You also deserved that award and I continue to be amazed by your NaNo progress. You go, girl! 🙂 New DVDs with the unwrapped plastic? It must be the plastic thing. Hehe.

      Like

  11. The smell of a freshly printed book!!! I had to comment because that is one of my favorite things…I’m also a lefty and use the mouse with my right. 🙂
    And you’ve chosen to wonderful women to add to the sisterhood. 🙂

    Like

    1. Amy – a freshly printed book is *fabulous* – I can fan the pages in my face and the paper just smells so good! HEhe. It’s not surprising you’re a lefty. You’re in your right mind! Hehe.

      Like

  12. Congrats on your sisterhood award! I’m fairly new to the blog-o-sphere. I’ve been running a local news website for over a year but just launched my own personal blog 2 days ago!!! (www.wendipoprock.com) So oil pulling? Wow! I never heard of that? I can’t imagine having the patience to swish for 20 minutes but now you have me intrigued!

    Like

    1. Wendy – it looks like you’re off to a WONDERFUL start in the blog-o-sphere! A local news website? I would love to check that out. 🙂 I just “swish” while I’m doing other thinks and don’t even think about it. Hehe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

