Christmas Photo Project – Day 1

Stained Glass and Christmas Lights

Here’s the first picture for my Christmas photo project.  There’s a story to go with it.

I was at my parents’ house in Colorado.  My mother loves to go all out for her Christmas displays.  She’s even won contests for them.

Um, I do not walk in her footsteps, but I can appreciate her love of the holidays by taking pictures!

I don’t know why I don’t decorate that much.  Maybe it’s my “clark” personality.

I never have decorated much, though.  I chalk it up to the fact that I’m never at my own house for the holidays.  We’re always at my mother-in-law’s house or at my own parents’ house – that’s not a complaint.  I love the fact that I have lots of family with whom I can celebrate.

When I took this picture, though, it was the night before we were due to start heading back to NC.  The house was dark – it was about 10 pm at night.

I saw the lights through the clear, etched glass on the front door and I was mesmerized.  I love sparkly things and the lights looked sparkly to me.

It took three or four tries to get it right as I didn’t have my tripod with me at that moment.  Holding a camera perfectly still for a few seconds while the camera takes the shot is challenging.

But I loved the way the etched glass diffused the green and blue Christmas lights.

Perhaps I’ll turn this into a photo print, but only if my readers think I should.

19 thoughts on “Christmas Photo Project – Day 1

  1. Absolutely beautiful and love the first picture you chose for the Christmas photo project. Also loved how you described your decorating or lack there of as that of typical Clark, lol!! I think this would definitely be awesome as print, too 🙂

    Like

  2. Like the photo.* I am not into the traditional decorationing thing, myself.
    Not being in your own environment/home surely has the effect to stifle the urge to decorate. (“uh, Cyndi? I know the two of you are leaving tomorrow, do yo really think today is the best day to start a Nativity diorama in the front yard? …love the ice sculpture in the freezer, to represent the Star in the East”)

    *which is a hint about your clarklike nature and decorations, i.e. you have the gift/ability to see creatively.
    I would suggest that a lot of rogers and scotts could have walked by the very same door and *not seen* the photo that you took. The thing is, clarks, by virtue of being the Outsiders, do not have their imaginations cluttered and pre-populated with a lot of images and ideas. Ideas, and decorations and ways to reflect the season that ‘everyone knows’ is pretty… or beautiful, or attractive, or “so-says-Christmas-you-must-tell-me-where-you-bought-that!”

    Like

    1. Clark – what you say is so fascinating. I definitely end up seeing things that other people are like, “WTF”? LOL. I had to read your comment to my husband because we’re both like this. Hehe. I knew he’d appreciate it, too. 🙂

      Like

  3. That’s a very cool photo! I can’t believe you did that without a tripod…it’s absolutely impossible for me to hold the camera completely still for more than in instant. Too much coffee maybe…:)

    Like

    1. Amy – lol, I had to take like 10 shots, but I finally got it. It was one of those moments where I saw the image and my tripod was in the car and I didn’t want to heft it all the way back inside and get it all set up when the shot was right there. Lazy? Probably, but I still got the shot. hehehehe

      Like

  4. OK, I live in Colorado and I am dying to know where these award winning lights are! 🙂 One of our favorite pastimes this season is driving around to look at lights. My husband runs one of the metro Parks Depts and doing the holiday lighting is one of his big events.

    Like

  5. Sorry, I’m a little late here…just catching up! Such a cool first picture for the Christmas theme. It is getting me a bit more excited about the festive season. Can’t wait to go check out the rest! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

