Picto Project Week 4 | Colorful Mushrooms Galore | Liebster Award

Striped mushrooms

The photo above is a slightly different angle from the one I snapped yesterday and with a little more post-processing, namely with the pronounced blue and green hues.  I couldn’t resist putting another mushroom/fungi photo in; ya’ll seemed to enjoy the one from yesterday!  Picto Project week 4 is almost wrapped up!

Every couple of months, the “awards” flare up in the blogosphere.  I like to joke that they’re a bit like a virus…everyone seems to catch one, and then they die down.

I still like to participate, however, because it’s a fun way to look at others’ blogs, glean a little recognition, and learn about each other.

I’ve had three awards bestowed upon me in the last couple of weeks from Terrye, Janine, Clark and more recently, Denise.  I’m always thrilled when someone bestows one upon me…even though it’s a little like taking a dose of cough syrup.  But you all are wonderful, wonderful bloggers.

The Liebster Award:

In the various versions of this award, the rules state that you display the award on your blog OR don’t follow any more rules OR state 11 things about yourself and then pass on the award to anyone OR 11 other bloggers, depending on how you look at it.

You know, I like to be snarky.  I think I’ll do my own thing here.  Read on to find out.

The Facts…

1. I’m a sucker for Seinfeld re-runs.  Every night while I’m making dinner, I need Jerry to come to my living room to make me laugh while I cook.

2. I must follow Seinfeld with a dose of Jeopardy.  Yes, after I have made dinner, the Hubby and I love to eat and throw out answers to all the questions.  We’d never win.  Ever.

3. If I love you, I will torture you.  That means I will tickle you, give you zerberts, play practical jokes on you, scare the bejeezus out of you, and randomly shower you with Hershey’s kisses.

4. I will eat all the Hershey’s kisses, too.  I have no willpower when it comes to those things.  So, I limit myself to once or twice per year.  Because I will eat the whole bag.  And leave a trail of foil wrappers.  And maybe make something with them.

5. I must spend time creating.  Every day.  Not that you didn’t know that if you follow this blog.  But, it doesn’t just have to be photography or art or writing.  I like creating food art, hair art, window art, clothing art….and my whole house looks like some clown came along and hiccuped bubbles of color all over the place.  My house is blueberry-colored.  While all the other houses here in the countryside are white or gray, mine is purple with a rose-colored porch.  I guess we won’t be selling it anytime soon…or at least until I get around to painting it again.

6. I don’t like talking on the phone.  Unless I’m commuting to Asheville in my car.  In that case, I have 40 minutes to bombard someone with the minutiae of my banal existence.  I try to do it hands free, but it’s highway driving.  Cars should be cell-phone free, I know, so don’t follow my example.

7. My brother-in-law has been on my mind for some reason.  Dang it, I’m always impressed by that dude.  He does 100-mile road rides, owns a fly-fishing business, built this incredible canoe from scratch, and is one of the forefathers of tele-skiing.  Yes, he really is – he helped usher in an era of tele-skiing while working at Crested Butte Ski Area in Colorado.  Just once, just ONCE I wish I could say that I did something to impress him back.  I don’t think I’ve done that, yet.  Dammit.

8. I don’t have kids.  It’s a beautiful, violent, big, unpredictable, creative, constrictive, filled-with-potential and harsh world we live in.  I just can’t decide if I want to give all those adjectives to a future generation.  Maybe I will.  Maybe I won’t.  I admire the courage of others to do so.

There are 8 facts.  And somewhere in all those blogs with the awards, it said there were no tag-backs.  I guess I’ll try and find some other bloggers that I think deserve an award.

And the nominees are (in my best Oscars-not-that-I-watched-it-voice):

Adorable Chaos

Mail 4 Rosey

Shona Skye

Everything Susan

Diary of a Plague Year

Congrats to these bloggers and may many more wonderful awards come your way!  Thank you also to Bill who recently wrote a tribute post in my honor.  Thank you.  I am feeling the love, people.  Feelin’ the love.  🙂

17 thoughts on “Picto Project Week 4 | Colorful Mushrooms Galore | Liebster Award

  1. Snarky’s ok by me Cyndi. lol
    First, I love the color in the this photo and yes, I was one of the ones who loved the pic from yesterday:) There is an intensity/dimensionality to the color that is very striking.
    And who doesn’t like Jerry?!

    Like

  2. Congrats on the award! It’s such a cool feeling getting one of these. I have to agree with you a bit on number 8, I think that’s partly the reason why we’ve been stalling on having kids as well. I’m not stressing about it though, what will be will be. If we’re not meant to have them, then there’s a bigger plan in store for us. I guess we’re in the same boat…we’ll see what happens!

    Like

  3. First of all your picture is superfabulous. I think it awesome to learn about people on line and make new friends. Lori and I appreciate you visiting our blog as well. I just wish I was as talented and creative as you are.

    Like

  4. What a great list! I love Seinfeld and Jeopardy too. I get SO excited when there is a topic I actually know something about (it’s a rare thing).
    Congrats on the award – you certainly deserve it! And thank you for passing it on to me. 🙂

    Like

  5. I loved the picture you posted the other day and this one is even more beautiful!
    Congrats on the award and wow, thank you so much! I think by me joining your “WW” it has inspired me to get my blog going and I have to thank you so much for giving me that push even though you didn’t realize that you were doing that. Hope that makes sense. 🙂

    Like

  6. That picture is amazing! I’m a fan of Jeopardy, but we have decided against cable. I guess we can only be addicted to so many machines at a time. Television would just take away from my Nook/Laptop obsession. Who needs that? Congrats on the award, btw!

    Like

  7. I really love the fungi shots… I think it is the color that goes with it. And I think you deserve this award… even though I am not really sure what this award is for… except I can only assume it is for awesome people! Congratulations and well done. Love your 8 interesting facts too. I wish I was brave enough to paint my house a different color than everybody else!

    Like

  8. “…all the other houses here in the countryside are white or gray, mine is purple with a rose-colored porch”
    I would submit that (re Item 7) you have, in fact, impressed him, but in a way that does not register in terms that he can express.
    Most ever body would like to be creative, many people have creative ideas but hardly anyone has what it takes to actually do it.
    You have that rare quality of not only creating, but presenting it to the world without fear or dependence on the approval of others.
    …pretty cool.

    Like

  9. The picture of those mushrooms is AMAZING! I love it. I have always wanted to be a photographer but I have never taken any classes and truth be told, I have no idea what I’m doing with my camera! I need to read the darn manual! 🙂 Congrats on your awards. I also hate talking on the phone!

    Like

  10. I love the colorful mushroom pics.

    I believe it was Zangief with his Russian accent who recently said, “Ralph…just because you are FUN GUY, does not mean you are…FUN-GI?”

    No? Well it was something like that.

    Congrats on your award!

    Like

Leave a Reply

