Ten Things of Thankful: Lake Junaluska

By now you’ve probably figured out that Lake Junaluska is one of my favorite places ever: you can walk, watch fireworks, enjoy the scenery, get ice cream, play tennis, ride your bike and whatever other activity you can drum up to do.

Last weekend, we took out our kayaks and canoes for an afternoon of fun on the lake. I decided to risk taking my camera to see what sorts of photos I could get. If you’ve never been canoeing, you need to know that if you sneeze wrong, you could end up in the water, so I held my Precious very close.

In any case, it’s high time I get back to sharing some photos. I’ll try to make it a weekly thing, but no promises – this teaching school AND being a graduate student thing takes up a lot of my time.

Eh, but I still need a creative outlet, right?

So, wrapped up in all the photos are my ten things of thankful this week, started by Considerer and hosted by some other very cool people.

Ten Things of Thankful

 

Lake Junaluska
Lake Junaluska has a rose garden. This is a peace rose.

I’m thankful for roses, especially Peace Roses. I painted an old dresser once with Peace Roses. Of course I think of International Day of Peace coming up on September 21, too.

Lake Junaluska
Another capture of a rose – this one is white, with a close-up of its center.

I’m thankful for my awesome camera that allows me to hone in on such a cool part of this white rose.

Lake Junaluska
I made this photo a vintage image of my toes on the canoe.

I’m thankful for the lake, where I can relax on the canoe and enjoy the hot summer sun.

Lake Junaluska
A view from the canoe. The mountains and clouds are pretty awesome-looking.

I’m thankful for a special feature on my camera that allows me to make HDR-looking photos. I’m going to really have to experiment with this in the near future.

Lake Junaluska
This is a church right on the lake. The yellow flowers were incredible.

I’m thankful for kick-ass yellow flowers beside the gorgeous architecture of the church.

Lake Junaluska
My sister-in-law had no idea she was posing, but her contemplative demeanor was priceless.

I’m thankful for my amazing, brilliant and sweet sister-in-law who has really perfected the art of contemplation.

Lake Junaluska
I set my camera to pick up on the color blue.

I’m thankful for the spectacular Blue Ridge Mountains. I set my camera settings to only pick up blue hues. That was the result.

Lake Junaluska
A photo of just the canoe on the lake.

I’m thankful for this photo. I don’t know what it is or why I like it so much, but it’s one of my all-time favorites.

Lake Junaluska
A view on the lake – people and ducks

If the photo before this one is one of my favorites, this hasย to be my absolute all-time favorite. You can snap hundreds, or perhaps thousands of photos before there’s one that just sticks out.

I think this is it. Out of all the photos I’ve taken, out of all the edits and angles and different takes I’ve shot, this is one photo that I will frame (or at least I hope to!).

It makes me thankful for canoes and ducks and beautiful countrysides and lovely summer days. I’m thankful that I had the eye to capture people canoeing with the ducks in the scene just so…and it’s perfect for a Labor Day post.

42 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful: Lake Junaluska

  1. I love all your photos, but that first one of the flower I want to have printed out on a sheet and wrap myself in, or eat it or something – it’s SOOO so so gorgeous!

    I’m totally psyched that you joined in, and can’t tell you how thrilled I am that this list of stunningly gorgeous shots is part of my weekend.

    Thank you Cyndi.

    Like

  2. “one if by land, toes if by sea”?

    Hey! you’re number 9 in the ‘oh-man-can’t-you-just-write-a-list-like-everyone-else’* Wakefield Doctrine TToT list!

    will be around after some work time today!

    *except your little friend Cyndi with her pitchas and such

    Like

  3. I’ve done the whole teaching and being a graduate student at the same time thing and can say from experience that you definitely need a creative outlet. Getting to come home and make something that had nothing to do with anything else in my life was very refreshing. I look forward to seeing more of your photos here again.

    Like

    1. Rose – aw, thank you so much! I know you can relate and I know you did an INCREDIBLE job as a teacher. ๐Ÿ˜€ I am instituting a plan for sure, to do just as you say.

      Like

    1. Jennifer – that last photo looks like a painting, doesn’t it? My brother in law paints, too, and that so looks like his style, haha. Thanks for coming by – always wonderful to see you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. I can’t believe you took that camera on a canoe!!! You are far braver than me. I am glad you did, though. Your photos are gorgeous. I really like that last one, too. (Although it’s not the only one that would look good in a frame.)

    So glad you linked up this week!

    Like

    1. Christine – okay, so I was really scared the whole time for my camera. It was not cheap and I felt like at any time I might fall into the water WITH my camera. GULP. But, it panned out. Sometimes the risks are worth the benefits – but only sometimes, haha. Thank you so much for coming by!

      Like

  5. What wonderful pictures! I especially loved the first as, along with the Abraham Derby, the Peace Rose is my absolute favourite Rose ๐Ÿ™‚
    You are really blessed to have this beautiful place to enjoy and explore, aren’t you? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Katy – I definitely don’t take the lake for granted – I only wish I lived closer to it – I’m about an hour’s drive away – it’s right next to my mother-in-law’s house. I go there every chance I get, though. ๐Ÿ™‚
      The peace rose is one of my favorite things, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. Oh, wow, what beautiful scenery along the lake! I think my personal favorite is the picture of the church on the lake with the yellow flowers. Absolutely gorgeous!

    Like

  7. The last time I went canoeing, we ended up in the water. Like within the first 8 seconds. Yay me. Totally my fault. I love your gorgeous photos! And the ability to make ones like that church pic is incredible! Yay for the lake and your fun relaxing time and amazing photos! And summertime toes!

    Like

  8. Beautiful! I think I could really enjoy paddling on a lake; I really liked white-water rafting in Yellowstone this summer, and found myself thinking I would love to take up rowing. Your lake looks lovely!

    Like

  9. Man Cyndi you suck! LOLOL Which is to say your photos are so f’ing fabulous and I am so jealous! Gimme some of your photography skills now!
    Can’t pic (hardy har,har) just one but if I had to….the church. And the one with sis-in-law comes in 2nd. Love them:)

    Like

    1. Denise – hehe, you crack me up! Photography skills? BAH – I just take a lot of photos and then hope I get one that seems good. ๐Ÿ™‚ I definitely lucked on some of these hehe

      Like

  10. Oh WOW! Now I’m really looking forward to summertime here! Those pictures are gorgeous. Honestly. I love them all…especially the ones out on the lake. Man, we need to go back to that place we went to last year so we can actually get out on a canoe on the lake! Last year hubby was sick so we missed that day out, but it was all good. Still relaxed. But looking at your pictures makes me reeeeeally wanna do it!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Melanie – Oh, sweetie! Winter is over for you! Yippee! We’re headed into autumn, but I bet you’re enjoying those spring flowers. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you get to canoe – I KNOW you’ll love it! xo

      Like

  11. What incredible photos! And so much more lovelier to me as I used to live in Waynesville/Clyde from ’89-’92 when my husband and I were first married and I was finishing up college at Western Carolina. Many times we would go over to Lake Junaluska and walk around or go out on the lake. Such a beautiful place. After we moved from there, for many years we would return in the summers for the Folkmoot festival. Loved the people there and the scenery just can’t be beat.

    This is my first link up with the Ten Things hop. So glad to find it and all the lovely bloggers who participate. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Joell – thank you so much. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s freaking awesome that you know the area, and I LOVE Folkmoot. It’s such a fun cultural event. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I agree: the scenery can’t be beat.

      Like

  12. What a lovely trip out onto the lake with you… absolutely beautiful scenery, and yes – those rose photos are amazing! You are very good at this!!

    Like

  13. Maybe this fall, we can revisit Lake Junaluska. It would be great fun to capture this quaint little lake against the background of the Blue Ridge Mountains autumn colors. BTW, did you enter my Diamond Candles candle giveaway? If not, it’s still open!

    Like

  14. You certainly have an eye for detail and love these set of photo’s and that you dare go out on a canoe, LOL,
    I remember at school I has sailing lessons in a dingy boat, and on my first maiden voyage age 14 and 2 crew, I managed to capsize it so that the Mast went straight underneath on a deep reservoir LOl.. The hysterics of my all girl crew as they screamed in their life jackets as the motor-boat sped to our rescue… I wish now I had been the one to scream with the hysterics, why? well I had to scramble onto the sharks fin lol beneath the boat, ( I am sure there is a perfectly technical name for it, and right the boat which took ages, which in freezing cold water was no joke… Plus
    I had no spare undies with me that day, so you can imagine why me and boats never crossed paths again! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope I brought you some smiles…

    Love and enjoy your weekend Cyndi,
    Sue xox

    Like

    1. Sue – haha, I was so scared I would tip over at any moment. It was a daring move for sure. As for your experiences: oh my! That sounds like something I would do! I couldn’t handle the freezing water, though. I would go nuts! haha
      You definitely brought me smiles today! xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

