Seashells on the Beach

seashells outer banks
A collection of beach seashells.
PHOTO D

Friends and Inspiration

Photography. Something that I must always do, along with writing.

The thing is, I want to write creatively, but sometimes it’s really hard to think about writing a novel or a short story – especially when I’ve started writing, photographing, teaching and doing admin stuff full time, plus tutoring, trying to write freelance articles and keep up with this here blog.

It’s utterly and sweetly fulfilling. Y’all I’m deliriously happy.

Soy feliz. Con muchos sueños.

Sometimes my creative juices flow out and I need to refill the reservoir, though, and the brain power to try to sit down to an epic novel just doesn’t happen.

It’s all about balance, and that is a never-ending process.

I was saying all this to Melanie when she said, “I’ve got it! Do your photography and put stories and/or poems to your images.”

Aw, nuts. Why didn’t I think of that? But Melanie, thank you for the idea.

With that, I’ve been working on my Zazzle store. For the past few weeks, in fact.

Interestingly, it’s a lot like writing freelance articles: you research keywords, post a product, and leave it.

Would you believe I have continued to have sales, even though I hadn’t updated my store since sometime last year?

That’s a powerful motivator: when something you did before still makes money.

But, there was a part of me that was like, well, I have a few hundred products. How many does it take to make something besides a few dollars?

I have no idea. A lot. I’m thinking at least 10,000 before you start to see some real income.

Lots of Zazzle Products

But, in the interim, Zazzle has added SO MANY new and fun products.

Remember that poll from last week?  The most popular one was the “Seashells on the Beach.”

I spent the better part of this June summer day creating products with that image.

And, I came up with a poem to go with it.

 

Here’s the background:

I really was walking on the beach one afternoon with husby. I had my camera with me and started taking photos, as I’m won’t to do.

But, after 12.5 years, I’m still hopelessly in love.

Our beach trips always serve as a way to center ourselves and regroup.

And inspire both of us.

 

A Love Poem

Finding that perfect seashell is one in a million
Just as I have found you.
Waves of water rush over my heart
Waxing love, my blood pulses vermilion.

Sweet nothings I whisper in your ear,
Like seashells that carry ocean sounds,
Words of love fill our hearts,
Whisperings of bliss – do you hear?

Sunrises and sunsets, we live them together,
Shared hearts and minds grow as one.
Like the sea shell in beautiful colors and hues,
You, like they, are my treasure.

 

With that poem, I made a greeting card and even a wine gift box:

They have all sorts of new things now.

And, by golly, all this is going to make me write creatively: poetry – come hither, dear literary friend.

You can even make coat racks now. Goodness. I am going to have a lot of fun snapping evermore photos. *Dream*

 

8 thoughts on “Seashells on the Beach

  1. You know the old saying “do what you love and all else will follow”. You appear to be validating this saying Cyndi and I couldn’t be happier for you!
    You are an excellent role model for your students:)
    Now about that guitar….come fall you had better have a few songs ready for the kids. Who wouldn’t love a singing Spanish teacher!!
    The poem is beautiful. And the gift box is muy cool! Melanie had a very excellent idea.

    Like

    1. Denise – I literally have read the book for that saying. Haha. I’m definitely trying to do just that. 🙂
      Role model? Well, I have you and Clark and Melanie and Janine and Bill and the list goes on – I have all of you to thank. 🙂
      Thank you for the feedback on the poem. YOU are MUY COOL!!

      Like

    1. Chris – haha, thanks!
      Zazzle is proving to be VERY interesting.
      So good to see you here! I’m glad you left a comment so I can see where to click over to your website. You rock!

      Like

  2. Dear Cyndi, I just loved your poem and your creations from your lovely photo.. What a lovely idea too… We are in the creative phase right now, so embrace it.. Now I need to check out this Zazzle 🙂 xxxx Love and Hugs and it was so so nice to have you drop on by xox Love Sue 🙂

    Like

  3. Woot! Bring on the Zazzle with Cyndi– watch out y’all this gal is unstoppable! Your poem is wonderful too! You have so many talents, my dear friend, and it’s wonderful you’re doing your best at sharing them with us xo We love it (and you!!)

    Like

    1. Haha, Christy – look who’s talkin’ you wonderful poet and writer, you. You’re such a bright ray of sunshine and I’m so glad to know you! xox

      Like

Leave a Reply

