Finding Mindfulness In Little Things

I am guest-posting over at the Wakefield Doctrine today. I hope you hop over there and take a look – you’ll find some fun tips about completing puzzles and finding mindfulness in unexpected places.

Here’s an excerpt:

 

Being able to “center” and find mindfulness when you’re surrounded by chaos is a powerful exercise.

Mindfulness allows us to consciously slow life down and concentrate on one task while using all our senses. It has a calming effect.

Our world today is filled with noises, distractions, too-full to-do lists, and countless other activities that drain energy.

But, you can control your reaction to everything around you.

In fact, you can experience and use mindfulness to help stress and calm those jittery nerves.

A Geometric Puzzle

The other day, I was at my in-laws’ house.

It had been an incredibly busy week: work obligations, my mother-in-law went to the ER (she’s okay – she swallowed a fishbone that lodged in her esophagus, but then it dislodged without any extreme measures), and we had family visiting.

On Saturday morning, I was feeling a bit out of sorts as I continued my way into the weekend.

We also had another visitor, Hootie. He’s an Amazonian parrot. I once did an abstract painting of himhere!

Read More >>>

 

8 thoughts on “Finding Mindfulness In Little Things

  1. Thank you very much for the Guestificationing… nice to have a writer who is not only skilled with the words and such, but to bring something (to the Post), that Readers can take away and have something more in their lives as a result of the time spent reading…very cool.

    Like

    1. Thanks for letting me visit, Clark. 😀
      Hopefully the readers did like it all right and that you had some new visitors to your place who had a little fun reading and stuff.
      Have a wonderful weekend, yo!

      Like

  2. So loved your finished resulting pattern and loved to how you showed it bit by bit how it was created.. Love the parrot picture too.
    Yes sometimes its good to find that mindful spot of peace, I paint, and garden to take me out of my thoughts.. Far too many have crowded into my space recently and a lot of negative World vibrations I had let under my skin.. So out they had to go and I was mindful to allow space in my ME time.. its sometimes the only way to shut the door for awhile and sit within the space of your own thought .. doing things which take your mind away from other things is a good thing..

    Glad your Mother-in-law was Ok… Love to you Sue xox

    Like

  3. Hi Cynthia…

    Marvelous post … I didn’t know about this particular Wakefield Doctrine … Your insights are so releveant!… I think we definitely need to pay more attention to the little things, as they are the ones who defines our memories at the end…
    Have you ever heard a song called “Aquellas pequeñas cosas”, by spanish singer Joan Manuel Serrat… He is very well know and so is this song… Hope you’ ll like it : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wN3DOwxnTiM
    Best wishes honey, Aquileana 😀

    Like

  4. Cyndi,

    I came over from Confessions of a Mommyholic and I’m so glad I did. I love the arcade theme, I’ve used it myself =) I’m loving your posts, but I wanted to ask a blog design-related question. I’ve noticed you have G+ and regular comments installed here. I’ve been thinking of doing that myself– are you on WordPress? Do you like having both? I can’t decide and would love to hear your thoughts about it!

    Looking forward to getting to know you better!
    Brittany

    Like

  5. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the
    post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found
    it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Like

Leave a Reply

