37 + TTOT

It’s been a busy week and I’ve actually been trying to do more than just one post a week. This week that didn’t happen. Ah, well…life.

It sometimes has other plans for us, no?

But today is a day that really makes me count my blessings.

  1. I am thankful for another trip around the sun. 37 is my number. It’s hard to believe, and at the same time, I can believe it: all my experiences, all my family and friends that have grown (and multiplied) over the years, all my jobs, all my travels…they add up, you know? It makes for an amazing commentary of a life.
  2. I’m thankful for Melanie, Janine, Bill, Clark, Denise, Sue, Lizzi, Brad, Aquileana, Christy and all my blogging friends. You all have touched my life in such a way that I often find myself giving thanks for the friendships I have forged in the wee hours of the morning, when I make it a point to get up and “be thankful” for ten things.
  3. I’m thankful for the rain. We had plans to go camping this weekend. But, the Universe had other ideas. I love that life can do its own thing without my intervention and things often turn out better than if I had orchestrated and planned everything.
  4. I’m thankful for the blue moon. Yes, today is a rare blue moon. Kinda makes a girl feel special when a rare celestial event happens on her birthday.
  5. I’m thankful for the day off I had yesterday. I still had to do some work at home, but all in all, I spent most of the day in my PJ’s. I didn’t do much, either. Just when I thought, “uh, you’re not being productive,” I silenced my inner critic and enjoyed another cup of tea.
  6. I’m thankful for Lake Junaluska. We’ll probably walk there later today. It’s one of my favorite things to do: walking in nature.

    walking around the lake
    Lake Junaluska on a cloudy day.
  7. I’m thankful for walks with my dog. I’ll be honest: he’s a mess. He doesn’t do well around other dogs or kids, and is really sensitive. You can’t say “bad dog” without getting this look of utter despair from him. So, I try to make sure I say way more “good boys” than anything else. He gets a spring in his step that way.
  8. I’m thankful for writing, in general. I would like to “do something” with my writing sometime. Publish a book? Make an ebook? Something. At the very least, I hope to inspire others with shenanigans of adventure.
  9. I’m thankful for living in town. I used to think I wanted to be a lot more secluded. I lived in the country – at least 10 miles from the nearest grocery store, 22 miles from work, 7 miles from a library and post office, and only forest and mountains between. It was serene, tranquil, and beautiful. For a long time, it was my sanctuary. But I grew tired of always having to drive and plan a whole day around errands – because it was insanity to just run one errand, go back home and then go back out. Now that I live in town – it’s not a large town, maybe 10,000 people – I can walk everywhere, ride my bike, take my dog to the park, play tennis, and the grocery store is a two-minute bike ride away. I love being able to walk downtown within five minutes, but in ten minutes, I can drive to the refuge of the mountains and go hiking, biking, camping and even boating (but I have to drive like forty minutes for that).
  10. I’m thankful for morning breakfast downtown. After days of rain, the sun boldly came out, I enjoyed my chai and veggie sandwich. I’d been wanting to get breakfast at this place since we moved here…but had never gotten around to it. Today, we finally did!
    City Bakery
    Breakfast in downtown Waynesville

    This is part of the Ten Things of Thankful Blog Hop.

32 thoughts on “37 + TTOT

  1. With all that to be thankful for, I’d say today will be a great birthday. Happy Birthday Lil Sis! We’ve never met and yet I am so thankful for your friendship. Thank the gods for the internet.

    Have a superior day!

    Like

    1. Big Bro – thank you! It has been a fantastic weekend. 🙂 I’m thankful for your friendship. And the marvels of the internet. 🙂 I hope you’ve had a superior day yourself!

      Like

  2. Looked like a beautiful breakfast and sadly even though the sun was out yesterday here and very warm, too, today is overcast and chilly again. Supposed to get more rain now for the next few days, but like you just thankful for yesterday’s brief interlude. That said, thank you for including me among all the other wonderful blogger friends here and hope you know I am so very thankful for you, too!! Happy Saturday now ❤

    Like

    1. Janine – thank you for the birthday wishes! Hopefully as I write this, it ended up not being too rainy where you are. 🙂 And you ARE a wonderful blogger friend! Sending hugs! xoxo

      Like

  3. … so excited to see my comment go right to ‘Post’ that I forgot to include an ‘object’ for the noun and verb cluster that was the previous comment.
    (meant to say, we’re talking breakfast at ‘the facebook’ so it’s good that you have provided a visual example and… well, it was clever in my head)
    lol

    Like

    1. Clark – HAHAHA. I enabled special settings just for you! ;D HEHE…okay…I have no idea what I did, actually. 😉
      And OH! I get it: breakfast on facebook. LOL. I quite enjoyed my veggie sandwich, thank you very much. Very clever indeed!

      Like

  4. Of course your pictures make me feel homesick. Still.
    I’m sorry I missed the blue moon. Two nights ago I saw the moon and thought, “That moon is nearly full.” And then I forgot last night beneath the mounds of laundry I was folding. Happy Birthday!

    Like

    1. Sarah – so good to see you! Sending hugs and I hope that you’ve had a great weekend! Sorry about the photos making you feel homesick. 😛 One of these days when you come back to visit, we have to meet up!
      And I didn’t get to actually see the blue moon: it was cloudy and rainy. Ah well…maybe it’ll look nearly the same tonight! 😀

      Like

    1. Vanessa – hi there! Yes, I really, REALLY love this small town I’m in! I was just talking about it today – how much I DON’T miss living waaaaay out. Hehe.
      Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  5. “It makes for an amazing commentary of a life.”
    From what you’ve written, from talking with you, yes Cyndi, yours is an amazing commentary.

    #4? No doubt! 🙂
    Skip the first minute. 😀

    It sounds as if you are enjoying a wonderful Birthday Weekend. I get the pull about “secluded living ” v. living “in town”. You’re very lucky. There is something magical about having the best of both worlds. Having quick access to the refuge of nature and still having all the amenities within walking distance. Nice.

    Ah. Vinnie. He is lucky to have you and John. No doubt about that 😀 I’m guessing you guys wouldn’t be taking him out to breakfast with you lol. Looks like a cool spot btw, overlooking the street.

    I’m sure you know without my saying that I’ve very thankful to have met you too!

    Like

    1. Denise – hehe. Well…I made a declaration today: I boldly spoke and said, “I *will* work from home once again!* Now…to maintain the focus and hold myself accountable to that.
      The birthday weekend has been fabulous. I appreciate the birthday wishes!
      And Vinnie. Dang guy almost clobbered the neighbor’s dog today…but she came running to where he was standing in the yard. A day in the life… Hehe.
      I am very thankful to have you as a friend! Sending hugs!

      Like

    1. Kit – hi there! Hehe…I’m still getting over the fact that my real life world and my blogging world are converging. It’s pretty cool! Let’s get together next weekend if you’re up for it…meet in Asheville? The weekend after I’m taking a field trip to Dollywood with 30 kids. O.o

      Like

  6. Happy Birthday to you and on a special blue moon too.
    🙂
    Love that. I love the moon. I would write about it all the time if I could.
    Speaking of…love all these but number eight especially. I would like to do something with writing too, along those lines you mentioned.
    Hope it happens for us both.
    I love peace and I grew up in the country, but I much rather live in town now. Still, road trips to enjoy nature are precious things.

    Like

    1. Hi there, Kerry,
      I hope you’re well. I am sorry for the delay in responding – it’s the end of the school year – whew! I love your comment. I love the moon and yes, I could write about it all the time, too. Hehe.
      I’m with you on that last part, too: I love peace, the country, but living in a small town is fun! Great minds…great minds. 🙂

      Like

  7. Awww Cyndi! What a beautiful post of thankfulness for your birthday. Happy b-day, sweetie! Thanks for the mention and I am so proud to be your friend. I think your breakfast (and spending the day almost entirely in your PJs) sounds fantastic. And don’t worry about 1 blog post a week if it happens again- I think it’s great to write as you are able to, even if that winds up being once every two weeks or fewer times. I support you, always ♥

    Like

    1. Christy – oh thank you, thank you!! Thank you for stopping by and being your awesome self! Yes..it’s the end of the school year which is keeping me rather busy and not able to blog as much. But then it will chill out a bit for the summer. 🙂
      I hope you’re well. Sending hugs and love!

      Like

    1. Lisa – thank you! I appreciate you stopping by. Sending hugs and yes..the best laid plans – especially at the end of the school year when so many things are going on! I hope you’re having a great week. Cheers! xo

      Like

  8. Hi! I enjoyed your post. You live a very full and satisfying lifestyle. Your thankful spirit inspired a smile in me today!

    Like

    1. Hello, sweet Dianna! It’s *so* good to see you! I hope you’re well. Yes, life is busy but I also know how full and satisfying yours is, too! I love and miss your writing! I love your inspiration, too! Sending you hugs!! And more hugs!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

